Classic Yachts Regatta Wrap-Up 2018


Classic Yacht Association Cup Regatta 2018

A rare sight and a unique event.

For the 12 consecutive year the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria hosted the Classic Yacht Association’s Cup Regatta. The CYAA Cup Regatta is three day event that brings alive the era of grand Classic yachting on Port Phillip. Watching the most recognized Australian Classic Yacht Sayonara from 1897 competing with Mercedes III of 1967 Admirals Cup Fame, classic yachts from the boards of recognized yacht designers such as Sparkman and Stevens, Philip Rhodes, Linton Hope and Charles McGregor II and a fleet of the well known  1930’s Tumlarens designed by Knud Reimers.

The Tony Blake painting trophy that recalls the memorable Sayonara Cup Race of 1907 between Sayonara and the New Zealander Rawhiti awarded to the best performing Classic Yacht over the previous year of Classic Yacht racing including her Cup Regatta performance was the Tumlaren Avian skippered by Roger Dundas. This trophy included sponsor prizes from Wooden Boat Shop, Australian made Wilderness Wear outdoor clothing, Karen Batson’s restaurant Cookie with a $250 dinner for two, an Autopia the event organizer with a $250 wine tour package.

The Col Bandy trophy for the best performing Classic Yacht of the Regatta with a top performing crew was the Philip Rhodes designed Fair Winds R604 skippered by Mark Chew

The Stradbroke II trophy provided by Peter Abrahams of Empara was awarded to the Will Bailleau designed Couta Boat Eliza skippered by Tony Hoppe.

The handicappers trophy in the form of sponsor prizes from Ferdie Darley, International Paints and Royal Yacht Club of Victoria went to Zephyr for their consistent ACH/BCH performance throughout the Cup Regatta.  

The Cup Regatta visitors from New Zealand awarded the Wooden Boat Shop sponsored Concours d’Elegance prize, The Cup Regatta boot hook was awarded to the Purcells family yacht Scimitar.

Awards sponsored by the Wooden Boat Shop and the CYAA for the line honours and corrected time honours for each handicap race went to Fair Winds , Mercedes III and the Tumlaren Avian. Col Andersons Doyle Sails sponsored the final race of the Regatta, the pursuit race. First over the line was Avian with the Couta Boat Eliza a very close second. Embedded in the Pursuit race was the Uira Trophy sponsored by the Royal Melbourne Yacht Squadron. This trophy is awarded to the first Tumlaren home in the pursuit race. Avian again featured in the trophy stakes here.

Report By Peter Costolloe
Official Photographer: Alex Mckinnon