

NOTICE OF RACE





WEDNESDAY SUMMER TWILIGHT SERIES 3 November 2021 – 30 March 2022 INCORPORATING Bill Hales Trophy

Frank Robinson Trophy

Essendon Trophy



NOTICE OF RACE

Wednesday Summer Twilight Series of Races

Royal Yacht Club of Victoria Inc. and Hobsons Bay Yacht Club Inc. as Organising Authority invite entries from the Yachts on the Registers of the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria and Hobsons Bay Yacht Club. The Races will be sailed on Port Phillip on Wednesdays between 6 October 2021 and 30 March 2022.

1. RULES

All races will be governed by the rules as defined in *The Racing Rules of Sailing* (RRS) including the Prescriptions and Special Regulations of Australian Sailing, and the Harbour Master's Directions

(https://www.vicports.vic.gov.au/publications/Documents/hm-directions-11thedition.pdf). Reasonable actions by event officials to implement COVID-19 guidance, protocols, or legislation, even if they later prove to have been unnecessary, are not improper actions or omissions.

2. ELIGIBILITY

Entries shall be accepted from yachts on the Register of the Royal Yacht Club of Victoria (RYCV) or the Hobson's Bay Yacht Club (HBYC) holding a current Australian Sailing Safety Equipment Declaration of Compliance with a minimum Special Regulations equipment category 6 and lodged with the organising authority at least 2 hours prior to the competitors first race.

3. CONDITIONS OF ENTRY

The safety of the yacht and its crew, including insurance, is the sole responsibility of the owner/competitor racing the yacht. All those taking part in the Regatta do so at their own risk and responsibility. The organising clubs are not responsible for the seaworthiness of the yacht whose entry is accepted or for the sufficiency or the adequacy of its equipment.

Attention is drawn to RRS Rule 4 regarding a boats decision to participate in a race.

4. ENTRIES

Entries should be lodged online in the usual manner with RYCV or HBYC.

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

Sailing Instructions are available online or from the offices of RYCV and HBYC.

6. DIVISIONS

Yachts will be allocated handicaps and division to race in by the RYCV/HBYC Race and Handicap Committee whose decision will be final. The Race and Handicap Committee reserve the right to adjust any handicaps that have been incorrectly calculated or published. Each division shall have its own course and scoring.

7. SCORING SYSTEM

The Series shall be scored under RRS Appendix A. Twenty-four races are scheduled. Minimum number of races to be sailed to constitute a series is seven. As allowed in part A2.1, after seven races have been completed a boat's worst score shall be discarded, after eight races have been completed a boat's two worst scores shall be discarded, after ten races have been completed a boat's three worst scores shall be discarded, after ten races have been races have been completed a boat's three worst scores shall be discarded, after ten races have been completed a boat's three worst scores shall be discarded.

8. SCHEDULE OF RACES

Races are scheduled as per the race calendars on the RYCV and HBYC web sites with the first warning signal at 1755hrs on the day of races.

9. TROPHIES

Bill Hales Trophy	RYCV
Frank Robinson Trophy	HBYC
Essendon Trophy	RYCV